Written by on September 21, 2021

Betika, the leading betting firm hosted a colourful National Superleague awards ceremony at the Serena Hotel on Wednesday, September 15th. The first-ever awards ceremony for the second division league saw over 11 category winners receive awards and cash prices as a token from the firm.

In November 2019, Betika announced a Ksh 94M partnership with the Football Kenya Federation to sponsor the National Super League (NSL) in a 3-year partnership deal. The league which is now known as Betika National Super League comprises 20 Kenyan grassroots football teams competing for the coveted winners’ cup from September 2019 to May 2022 season.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Mr Nicholas Mruttu, the firm’s Chief Executive Officer said,“Under the sponsorship, each of the 20 competing teams gets Ksh 750,000 per annum and in-kind provision of kits, balls, nets and other sports equipment. Through the sponsorship, Betika is the sole and official grassroots football partner for FKF with Ksh 45M going directly to financing grassroots football activities across the 47 counties.

Betika as a firm felt that the sponsorship without recognition will not motivate the teams enough therefore, we decided to start the Betika National Superleague awards. Through the sponsorship, we have approximate 50 players moving from BNSL to KPL every season, a testament to the league’s improving talent.

Through the grassroots community tournaments, we have created avenues for mashinani teams to get scouted and exposed to the BNSL league. These are a few reasons that confirm our commitment to investing in the community through sports, arts and culture with football being a key focus. Mr Mruttu also acknowledged Talanta FC and Vihiga Bullets who have been promoted to the Kenya Premier League after the 2020/2021 season.

FKF CEO, Mr Barry Otieno, lauded Betika for coming on board and starting the award ceremony, “We mark yet another milestone through the Betika and NSL partnership for our clubs which we believe will go a long way towards not only motivating the clubs’ but also the players and the grassroots footballers to know that football pays, the love of the game pays more”.He also noted that there is an increase in the level of competition among the teams, the league has greatly improved in performance.

In addition to the National Super League sponsorship, Betika organizes tournaments for grassroots football teams under its ‘Betika Na Community’ initiative. The ‘Betika Na Community Initiative’ has now grown into a massive movement with a huge following across the country and the firm promised to make the event an annual event to recognize different players and clubs.


  1. Assistant Referee of the Year
  • Irene MASHA – 2nd Runners-Up (100k)
  • Oliver LIME – Winner (250k)
  • Walter MARITIM – 1st Runners-Up (150k)
  1. Referee of the Year
  • Edwin BOBIYA – Winner (300k)
  • Lucy JUMA – 1st Runners-Up (200k)
  • Wycliffe ITOLONDO – 2nd Runners-Up (100k)
  1. Fair play team
  • Kibera Black Stars FC – Winner (300k)
  1. Young Player of the Year (Most Promising Player)
  • Alfred TANUI – Winner (300K)
  • Alvin OCHIENG – 2nd Runners-Up (100K)
  • Brian MICHIRA – 1st Runners-Up (200K)
  1. Defender of the Year
  • Chris WILUNDA – 2nd Runners-Up (100K)
  • Nichodemus MALIKA – 1st Runners-Up (200K)
  • Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner (300K)
  1. Midfielder of the Year
  • Antony GICHO – Winner 300K
  • Bonface KWEYU – 1st Runners-Up 200K
  • Brian MICHIRA – 2nd Runners-Up 100K
  1. Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper) Bonphas MUNYASA – Winner 400K

Gedion OGWENO– 1st Runners-Up 250K

Wilson MWANGI – 2nd Runners-Up 150K

  1. Golden Boot (Best Forward)
  • Cornelius JUMA – Winner 400K (16 goals)
  • Jackson OKETCH – 1st Runners-Up 200K (15 goals)
  • Samuel NDUNG’U – 1st Runners-Up 200K (15 goals)
  1. Coach of the Year
  • Ken Kenyatta – Winner 500K
  • Edward MANOAH – 1st Runners-Up 300K
  • Benedict SIMIYU – 2nd Runners-Up 150K
  1. Team of the Year
  • FC Talanta – Winner- 1M
  1. MVP of the year
  • Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner- 1M

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track